New Zealand's only sugar factory was built in 1884 and at one point employed nearly all the Village. The first walks were "etched" out by sugar workers walking home to their cottages after the days work. The walk heads off down Huka Road (formerly Huttons Road) and has well maintained tracks throughout. Wander down the pathway to view the Chelsea Sugar Clay Cottages (1910 - gifted to the city 2009). The factory, located on the banks of the Waitemata was built from local clay. Four brick dams constructed 1884-1917 to provide water are today picturesque lakes, home to ducks, black swans, and shags.
Enjoy the native bush then stroll back up to Rawene Road for a gelato or coffee at historic Highbury Corner.