One Hour - discover our beautiful NZ bush just 10 mins from Auckland City.
Birkenhead Village is flanked by the largest green stand of native bush on the Shore, second only to Titirangi in the greater Auckland area. A stone's throw from Birkenhead Avenue, LeRoys Bush is a nature lovers paradise with access off main entrance 210-212 Onewa Road, Hinemoa and Enterprise Streets.
A new Access directly into the heart of this walk from the middle of Birkenhead Village has now been added in 2016. Access directly opposite Birkenhead Library.
The maori "pipi walk" was a food trail running down the ridge to the shoreline of the mangrove estuary. Here the Maori sourced supplies of local seafood. This walk is a unique native bush experience with tall kauri and totara trees, nikau palms, tuis, tiwakawaka and Kereru (native wood pigeon).
The tracks are in terrific condition and provide an easy walk for day visitors. Start or end the day with a great coffee from a village café. Alternatively put together a picnic from one of our owner operated bakeries or gourmet delicatessens.
Points of Interest
Birdlife - fantail, tui, kereru (wood pigeons)
Native Trees - kauri, nikau palms, totara
Little Shoal Bay - a rich source of seafood and pipis
Riverbank Glowworms (only visible in the evenings)
The original entry to the Village was from Hinemoa Street (formerly known as Hauraki Road) and is flanked by two churches - All Saints and St Andrews. Hinemoa Street meanders for 2km from Auckland's first working wharf to the Village at the top.
In 1913 Birkenhead was advertised as Auckland's most "healthful" marine suburb. An idyllic location, it was known as one of Auckland's first holiday retreats reached by ferry.
Points of Interest
William Thompson House9 Hinemoa St - Owned by an unsuccessful farmer who made a success selling strawberry jam!
Clows Bakery81 Hinemoa St
Post OfficeSouth Junction of Maritime and Hinemoa St
Ravenhill - est as Stotts Butchery 98 Hinemoa St
Gum Diggersest as The Bakery 146 Hinemoa St
Royal Thaiest as Samuel Roberts General Store - est 1910circa 243 Hinemoa St
Bambinaest as Henry Hawkins Grocery 245 Hinemoa St
Oborn BuildingHighbury Corner - 1923 formerly WH Payne Building
1927 War MemorialNell Fisher Reserve, a significant landmark on the four road junction
Chelsea Sugar Archives RoomLibrary 204 Hinemoa St
Highbury Corner The original junction where four roads meet.
This walk begins at Highbury's oldest Church, at Zion Hill. Stroll past Hammond Place, and then on to the historic art deco buildings (1920-1950) located in and around Highbury Corner. The little village remains true to its roots. Since its development in 1923 there's always been a butcher, a baker (and now a candlestick maker), fish shop, general goods store, land agent, shoe shop, drapery, and photographer around Highbury Corner. It's here that the four original roads of Birkenhead meet up. The walk finishes at All Saints Church - formerly Forester's Hall the social centre of the Village!
Factory tours of the iconic site, along with baking classes, exhibits and coffee.
Find out more at chelsea.co.nz/chelseabay.
35 - 40 mins
New Zealand's only Sugar Factory.
New Zealand's only sugar factory was built in 1884 and at one point employed nearly all the Village. The first walks were "etched" out by sugar workers walking home to their cottages after the days work. The walk heads off down Huka Road (formerly Huttons Road) and has well maintained tracks throughout. Wander down the pathway to view the Chelsea Sugar Clay Cottages (1910 - gifted to the city 2009). The factory, located on the banks of the Waitemata was built from local clay. Four brick dams constructed 1884-1917 to provide water are today picturesque lakes, home to ducks, black swans, and shags.
Enjoy the native bush then stroll back up to Rawene Road for a gelato or coffee at historic Highbury Corner.